POETRY: Plain and Green

Plain and Green

I am lonely on a surface,

Seeing the world with new eyes,

I feel so lost and frustrated,

What am I? Who am I?

 

Behind me is a crumbling brown,

Below me is all green,

Above me is the brightest circle,

That my eyes have ever seen.

 

The surface seems to have green veins,

And bounce beneath my weight,

My stomach is grumbling with pains,

A feeling that I hate.

 

I take in a breath and begin to slide,

To the very edge,

I peek over the side with wide eyes,

My body shakes with dread.

 

With fearful eyes I gaze below,

And see a surface that gleams,

It reflects an image in the shallow,

Of a veiny shape of green.

 

Upon this pointed oval shape,

Is a creature that I barely see,

With tearful eyes I say ‘Wait,

Is that creature me?’

 

I am so small and hardly there,

I am all plain and green,

I continue to shake and fearfully stare,

At this creature I wish I had not seen.

 

By Jody Dontje

~ This poem is in dedication to my Fictional Short Story that I may upload one day.

8 thoughts on “POETRY: Plain and Green

  1. Nice. We are all born anew and somewhat green each day.

  2. Todd Ehlers says:

    I hear Lovecraft in here, myself. (That’s a monstrous compliment from me!)

  3. Kev says:

    I would love to read your short story. :)

Leave a Reply

