SOCIAL SECTION: Do you have a dream?

A big hello to those who care to share your time with me,

Throughout my childhood, teenage years and up to now, I have always been known as a “social butterfly”. I would continuously seek to be apart of collaborative groups, such as being in an Orchestra performing in front of hundreds of fans, being in a small alternative music band, doing art classes, helping with the running of various volunteering events and being apart of mentoring teams.

While studying at University, I also work a part-time retail job, and enjoy every second of it! Am I the only one who loves having extensive conversations with costumers? It is astonishing the discussions that arise, when you take the time to really show interest in their lives.

On that note, it is true, that I love hearing other peoples stories. Thus, I decided to publish this social post, in order to get to know all of you. How are you? Do you have a growing passion for writing, educating, learning, or something else? What are your goals in life? How many goals have you already ticked off your list?

I am always willing to hear your story, because that is what my site promotes, freedom of speech and support for all.

Sincerely Jody

12 thoughts on “SOCIAL SECTION: Do you have a dream?

  1. Dayle says:

    I used to have dreams, now I just dream from day to day. I have learnt to live each moment for itself

    • Jody Dontje says:

      Hi Dayle,

      That is somewhat poetic. I’m assuming, due to unfulfilled dreams, you have come to the realisation that you find happiness in each moment, rather than putting hope into something that may disappoint?

      Sincerely Jody

      • Dayle says:

        Hi Jody, thanks for your reply. How I got to this conclusion is a little complicated but you have summed it up pretty well. It is about appreciating what you have, living for today rather than tomorrow, and enjoying even the smallest things. I am much more in tune with myself now.

      • Jody Dontje says:

        Hi Dayle,

        Anytime, I wish for my site to be a social space for all. I assumed so, and see how this approach is a positive one. I agree that we should always appreciate what we have, instead of dwell on what we don’t. However, I also believe that aspirations and dreams can drive us, and even if we don’t achieve the result we hoped for, we learn so much along the way. Don’t let go of all your dreams Dayle!

        Sincerely Jody

  2. Dayle says:

    Thank you Jody, it’s been nice sharing with you.

  3. Leslie says:

    Hi Jody. This is an outstanding forum you have started here! I too work in retail, specifically at Barnes & Noble. It is an ideal part time job for me to have while I pursue my dream. When I was a child, I wanted to be an entertainer. Now as an adult, I have so many interests that it’s hard for me to pinpoint exactly what I hope to excel in. I’ve played in bands as a drummer. I’ve been in poetry, and performing arts groups. Recently I’ve started to learn how to play the guitar. I’m learning how to draw and paint. I’m also experimenting with photography. So I suppose my dream is to become a well rounded artist. I’ve had the best conversations with customers at my job, where I’m surrounded by art and artists. When customers suggest movies, music or literature for me to check out, I usually follow up on it. Talking to customers always fuels the creative process.

    As far as my goals in life, they are as follows: 1. Travel to Paris (and one day live there) 2. Have my drawings, paintings and/or photography featured in an art museum 3. Publish a book of poetry 4. Record an album of music 5. Direct, shoot, produce, and/or act in a movie.

    I’m close to realizing goal #1. I hope to visit Paris in 2014. As far as goals #2-5, I have written and recorded rough draft ideas that I hope to develop further in the future.

    Thanks for creating a space to dream out loud!

    • Jody Dontje says:

      Hi Leslie,

      I really do appreciate the support and your willingness to give up your time to read, like and comment on my posts.

      I completely understand! I too have so many aspirations, and it is great to see others with these powerful desires! Motivation is one of the keys, so you’re doing well! Customers have some great advice, many people should listen more.

      My sister has the dream to travel to Paris, I know you will fulfil it with the right attitude! Those are fantastic dreams, I share many of the same. I hope that we can continue to nurture each others passions, and that we both reach most, if not all, our goals!

      You are always welcome to express your thoughts on my site. Never let go of your passions, let them drive you to success.

      Sincerely Jody

  4. Habibi says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything such as this before. So good to get somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy we appreciate you starting this up. this fabulous web site are some items that is required on the internet, somebody with a little originality. beneficial work for bringing a new challenge on the world wide web!

    • Jody Dontje says:

      Hi,

      Thank-you so much! Your kind words mean a lot! Really appreciate it. I aim for originality and to have a site that nurtures everyone’s passions. Thanks again.

      Sincerely Jody

  5. Kev says:

    It good to be a part of groups and events. I like variety and I’ve had a lot of it in my life. It’s what makes life special and creates those special memories.

Leave a Reply

